Blocking

Do you need to be left alone? Block that Annoying Contact!

In most XMPP clients, you can block a contact by right clicking the name in the roster and choosing “Block”.

Eve gets a message from Tex and she decides to block him.

During the time that a contact is blocked, messages sent from the contact to you will be blocked and will never arrive.

The next message sent by Tex to Eve gets an error showing the message did not go through. It appears that Eve has "Logged Out".

To unblock a user, simply right-click the username in the roster and choose “unblock”.

When a block is removed, the messages that were sent during the block will not arrive. This is different from going offline. If you go offline and someone sends you messages, the messages will be delivered the next time you connect.


Topics covered on this page:

Last modified June 2, 2020