Administering a Chatroom
There are two attributes that every participant has in a chatroom: his role and his affiliation. A person’s role exists only while the person is in the room. A person’s affiliation remains with him even if the person is not in the chatroom. Understanding roles and affiliations is key to administering your chatrooms.
Each person has a role of either visitor, participant, or moderator. In a moderated chatroom, people enter with the role of visitor. In a non-moderated chatroom, people enter with the role of participant. Even in a non-moderated chatroom, a moderator can demote a participant to a visitor.
|Kick Others Out||No||No||Yes|
|Promote a Visitor to Participant||No||No||Yes|
|Demote a Participant to Visitor||No||No||Yes|
Every person in a chatroom has an affiliation. An affiliation remains with a person even if he leaves the chatroom. Each person is either an outcast, an unaffiliated, a member, an administrator, or an owner. A new affiliation can be assigned to a person by an administrator or an owner.
|Has Moderator Role||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|View XMPP IDs (JIDs) of Others||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
|Assign Roles and Affiliations to Others||No||No||No||Yes||Yes|
*Unaffiliated can enter when a chatroom is not "members-only"
The owner affiliation is automatically assigned to the person who creates the chatroom. A chatroom can have multiples of any affiliation, including owner.
Controlling Who Enters
There are four ways in which you can control who enters your chatroom:
- Assign a password to the chatroom
- Not include the chatroom in the public list
- Make the chatroom members-only (available to persistent chatrooms)
- Send invitations to people you know
Once a person enters your chatroom, there are various steps you can take to require that he acts appropriately.
By changing Joker's Role from participant to visitor, he is silenced. Now, Joker cannot post messages in the chatroom. In this non-moderated chatroom, if Joker leaves and enters again, he will regain the role of participant.
Kicking a person from a chatroom simply removes him for the time being. The person who is kicked can reconnect.
Banning someone kicks him from the chatroom and assigns the outcast affiliation to him so that he cannot enter the room again.
Eve decides to Ban the Joker and to post a reason for doing so.
The reason Eve gives is "Abusive". In the PSI+ client, Eve can save a list of reasons for future use if she desires.
By clicking the configuration button, Eve can see that the joker's XMPP ID has been added to the banned list. Joker has been assigned the outcast affiliation.
A persistent chatroom on e2e.chat can be configured to be Non-Anonymous. This means that everyone in the chatroom can view the XMPP IDs of everyone else in the chatroom.
An interim chatroom on e2e.chat is always Semi-Anonymous. This means that only administrators and owners can view the XMPP IDs of the room’s occupants. The default configuration for persistent chatrooms on e2e.chat is Semi-Anonymous.
Destroying a Chatroom
An interim chatroom will persist as long as someone is still inside even if the owner has exited. If you create an interim chatroom it is wise to destroy it as you leave, especially if the discussion included private or sensitive information.
Destroying a Chatroom in the Psi-Plus XMPP Client is done from the configuration dialog.
A persistent chatroom can be destroyed in the same way. You should destroy a persistent chatroom only if you plan not to use it again.
A persistent chatroom that is destroyed will have a tombstone in place for 30 days preventing anyone from entering the room or recreating it as an interim chatroom. This will not prevent someone, including the original owner, from requesting a new persistent chatroom with the same XMPP ID.
This chatroom was destroyed by its owner. A tombstone prevents entry into this chatroom.
A chatroom with no activity for 14 days may be destroyed by the site administrator.
Topics covered on this page:
- XEP-0045: Multi-User Chat