Persistent Multi-User Chatrooms
The correct domain for e2e.ee chatrooms is e2e.chat.
A persistent chatroom will remain with its configuration, available for you to use, even if no one is connected to it.
You can request a persistent chatroom from the Account Management Page once your account has existed on the server for a period of 7 or more days.
There are many possible reasons to have and to use a persistent chatroom. With that in mind, e2e.chat offers more configuration options for persistent chatrooms than it does for interim chatrooms.
|Chatroom Setting||Can Be Configured in
|Can Be Configured in
|Allow Members to Invite||Yes||No|
|Allow Anyone to set Room Subject||Yes||No|
|JID's may be viewed by Admin or Anyone||Yes||No|
If you request a persistent chatroom, you will be able to configure it with all of these options. To learn more about configuring a chatroom, reivew the page Administering a Chatroom.
All persistent chatrooms on e2e.chat are archived which means that the messages are stored on disk until they expire. Messages expire after 14 days.
You can purge the archived messages of your persistent chatroom from the Account Management Page. This could be an important feature if someone leaves unwanted messages in your persistent chatroom.
Persistent Chatrooms are Best For
- Chatroom as a form of entertainment
- Public Discussions about specific subjects
- Groups of known participants such as members-only chatrooms
- Organizations with people who have different roles, obligations, and tasks
- Family communication
- A chatroom with a name or identity you want to own
Topics covered on this page: